Professor Saraladevi Naicker

Prof Sarala Naicker

AstraZeneca Research Trust

Scientific Review Panel Advisor


Prof Saraladevi Naicker (MB ChB (Natal); MRCP (UK); FRCP (London); PhD (Natal); FCP (SA)- peer review) currently serves as the Academic Head of the Department of Internal Medicine and head of the Division of Nephrology at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. She trained in Nephrology at UKZN, Wits University and completed her studies at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne in the UK. Upon her return to Durban, she began practicing in the Renal Unit at UKZN, where she assisted in setting up the Transplant Unit at Addington Hospital.

Prof Naicker is a member of several national and international societies, and served as a Council member of the College of Physicians of South Africa, the African Association of Nephrology, the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) and the International Society of Peritoneal Dialysis. In addition, she has been on the executive committee of ISN, KDIGO and SA Transplantation Society (as president), and is currently president of the South African Renal Society.

Her awards and honours include:

  • International Distinguished Medal of the NKF (USA), 2005
  • Convocation / Philip Tobias Distinguished Teaching Award of the University of the Witwatersrand, 2006
  • Roscoe Robinson award of the International Society of Nephrology for education in nephrology, 2009